Concern Debates: knockout phase

You are here

Concern Debates: knockout phase

The information below is for the 2018–2019 competition.

Concern Debates final Poster 2019


The following are the schools which have progressed to the Concern Debates quater-finals. 

  • Colaiste Chill Mhantain, Co. Wicklow
  • CBS Secondary School, Kilkenny
  • Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Dublin 6
  • St. Kilian’s German School, Dublin 14
  • Presentation De La Salle Bagenalstown, Co. Carlow
  • Ballinrobe Community School, Co. Mayo
  • Davitt College, Castlebar, Co Mayo
  • Largy College, Clones, Co. Monaghan

See the updated quarter-final fixtures for the above schools. 


The Semi-Finals 2018-2019 will take place at 7pm on Wednesday, 3 April in the Camden Court Hotel, Dublin.

The motion: “The EU needs an army”

  • Presentation De La Salle Bagenalstown, Co. Carlow
  • Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Dublin 6
  • Ballinrobe Community School, Ballinrobe. Co. Mayo
  • Largy College, Clones, Co Monaghan


See the updated semi-finals fixtures for the above schools. 

As space is limited, we would ask that you confirm attendance as soon as possible by emailing: [email protected].Please note that both Semi Final debates will be held in The Camden Court Hotel, Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2.  Start time 7pm sharp.

All Ireland Final

This year marks the 35th year of the Concern Debates programme! The All Ireland final will take place on May 1 at 7 pm in the Helix, DCU. Join us for an evening of lively debate and to celebrate our 35th birthday. Best of luck to our finalists Sandford Park and Largy College! To book tickets for the event for individuals and groups, please email [email protected]

Concern Debates Semi Finalists 2018/2019 - Largy College debaters Photo: Concern Worldwide

Concern Debate Semi Finalists 2019 - Sandford Park School debaters Photo: Concern Worldwide